Fruitful Summer Internships Will Pave the way to Success

Welcome to back to the chaos of diving into fall semester!

Processed with VSCOcam with g3 preset

A little introduction: My name is Alyssa Fea and I am the PRSSA blog coordinator! When you think back to summer, can you think of something that you did to add to your resume? Summer is a great time to buckle down and do something that a full load at NC State wouldn’t allow. For me that was an internship in Charlotte. I started my search in February to make sure I had a paid internship in May. I ended up working for Boyle Consulting Engineers and helping them rebrand and market their computer software.

 

chuck edited

A day in the life of a public relations intern at Boyle was better than every minimum-wage service job that I had during past summers! I learned what to do in a different professional situation several times each week. I was in charge of posting to their social media sites, organizing customer lists, creating marketing collateral and cold calling. Boyle also let me tag along for meetings with clients and potential clients. Their software made a big splash in the engineering industry until the stock market crashed in 2007. It was my job to help them revamp their software’s reputation and remarket it to their clients.

An internship is the easiest way to experience public relations outside of the textbook. I’m sure you’ve heard that trying to teach PR in a classroom is like trying to teach swimming in a classroom. The best thing that you will do for your future public relations career is get real-world experience as an intern in the field you are interested in. The gain well exceeds the effort put forth!

Leave a Reply

